India Vs Bangladesh- Bangladesh first series win over India

Bangladesh First Series Win Ever
Bangladesh First Series Win Ever

MIRPUR: It was way back in the 2012, when Bangladesh were at the cusp of history against Pakistan in the final of the  Asia Cup at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur. Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain and Shakib Al Hasan  were part of that team who lost the match by two runs. Three years on, the experienced quartet of Tamim, Mushfiqur,  Nasir and Shakib finally became part of a historic moment in Bangladesh cricket when the team sealed their first ODI  series win over India at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on Sunday, after beating the visitors by six wickets  (D/L Method) in the second ODI.

India slumped to a new low on Sunday as they suffered their first ever ODI series defeat against Bangladesh following  an embarrassing six-wicket loss in the second ODI that gave the hosts an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match  series in Mirpur.

Young Bangladeshi pacer Mustafizur Rehman (6/43), the Man of the Match, yet again tormented the Indian batsmen with his  second successive six-wicket haul as the visitors folded for 200 in 45 overs.

Bangladesh Team Celebrate Wicket against India 21 June 2015 Bangladesh Vs India ODI 2nd Match Bangladesh Team Celebrate Wickets
Bangladesh Team Celebrate Wicket against India

The 19-year-old young left-arm pacer from remote Satkhira village became only the second bowler in ODI history to  record two five-wicket hauls in his first two matches. Zimbabwe pacer Brian Vitori is the only other bowler to get two  fifers in as many ODIs first up.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan made a useful contribution of 53 runs while skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (47) looked  horribly out of touch in his innings. The only significant stand of the Indian innings was between Dhawan and Virat  Kohli (23) as they added 74 for the second wicket.

Due to a rain interruption late in the Indian innings, the hosts were set a target of 200 in 47 overs and the  Bangladeshi batsmen went about their job fearlessly, overhauling the total with nine overs to spare.

It was a highly disappointing show by the star-studded Indians, who were outclassed in all departments of the game by  the spirited Bangladeshis, who are now on a roll with a string of good performances.

Bangladesh have been doing well of late in world cricket, from reaching the quarterfinals of the World Cup to blanking  Pakistan 3-0 in a recent ODI series. This series-win has certainly enhanced their reputation and they cannot be  considered Asian minnows anymore.

Bangladesh have also qualified for the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, to be held in England, following this series win.

The home batsmen went about their business without any fuss as openers Tamim Iqbal (13) and Soumya Sarkar (34) stroked
the ball confidently from the word go.

The openers did not put up a great stand but all the following batsmen contributed and made it an easy chase, much to  the delight of the home fans.

Tamim was lucky to survive early when he had not even opened his account as the catch taken by Kohli off Dhawal Kulkarni was not found clean by the umpires.

However, Kulkarni had Tamim (13) caught in the slip region in the seventh over when the left-hander edged an away-going
ball and Shikhar Dhawan took a simple catch.

Litton Das (36), Mushfiqur Rahim (31) and experienced Shakib Al Hasan (51 not out) batted with a lot of determination,  foiling all the attempts of the Indians of making a comeback.

The Indian pacers and spinners posed no threat except for a few balls when the ball either turned sharply or bounced  high.

Earlier, electing to bat in a must-win encounter of the three-match series, India kept losing wickets as Bangladesh  bowlers once again showed their might.

Five Indian batsmen failed to reach double figures and three were dismissed without troubling the scorers, including  Ambati Rayudu, who was a surprise replacement of Ajinkya Rahane.

Indian opener Rohit Sharma (0) was guilty of playing a loose shot away from his body and sliced it to point early on. Kohli then broke lose in the ninth over to bring India’s fifty with a six at long on.

A brief rain interruption did not deter the batsmen from going for their runs but Nasir trapped Kohli leg-before in the  13th over for 23 to get the capacity crowd at the Shere Bangla National Stadium going.

Kohli’s poor form has been of some concern as he has got one century in the last 14 games with no score in excess of 50
in other games.

Dhoni promoted himself up the order to do the repair job with Dhawan, who registered his third ODI fifty.

The wicketkeeper-batsman had a lucky escape after being dropped by Litton Das, keeping wickets for the hosts, trying to
paddle sweep a turning delivery from Nasir.

Nasir though was rewarded for his persistence as he struck a couple of balls later to get Dhawan caught behind after  the left-hander tried to come down the track to drive a wide-ish spinning delivery.

Medium-pacer Rubel Hossain soon got Ambati Rayudu (0) to spell trouble for the visitors. Trying to dab at a short  delivery, Rayudu was caught at point with Nasir taking a good catch.

Suresh Raina (34) then joined Dhoni at the crease as the duo stitched a 53-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

But the in-form Mustafizur got Raina caught behind in the 36th over. Trying to cut a shortish delivery close to his  body, Raina edged the ball as Das safely gloved it behind the stumps.

With his tail up, Mustafizur got the prized wicket of Dhoni with another lethal cutter that the veteran batsman was  unable to read and lobbed the ball to short cover.

Mustafizur Rahman celebrate Wickets  21 June 2015 Bangladesh Vs India ODI 2nd Match mustafizur rehman celebrate wickets against team india
Mustafizur Rahman celebrate Wickets

The left-armer then got the crowd on its feet by trapping Axar Patel LBW with his next delivery.

The hat-trick ball was averted by Ravichandran Ashwin (4) but the youngster looked destined for another fifer after  getting the Indian all-rounder trapped LBW in his ninth over.

Ravindra Jadeja (19 not out) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2 not out) were at the crease when the match saw another rain interruption in the 44th over.

When play resumed, it took the hosts two overs to finish the visitors’ innings as Jadeja (19) and Bhuvneshwar (3) fell  to Mustafizur and Rubel, respectively.

Match Summery India Vs Bangladesh:

Toss – India, who chose to bat
Venue– Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka
Series – Bangladesh led the 3-match series 2-0
Player of the match – Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)
Umpires – Sharfuddoula and Rod Tucker (Australia)
TV umpire – Anisur Rahman
Match referee – Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve umpire – Gazi Sohel

Playing Eleven(XI) Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Das(k), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir
Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Playing Eleven(XI) India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(c & k),
Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni

Leave a Reply