Kolkata Knight Riders Team in Indian Premier League 2015 for IPL 8

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) come into the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 as defending champions. Led by discarded Indian opening batsman Gautam Gambhir, KKR is one of the most flamboyant teams in the league. KKR defeated Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in last season’s final to lift the trophy for the second second time, having won it earlier in 2012 edition.
The franchise is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan’s company Red Chillies Entertainment in partnership with actress Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta from the Mehta Group.
Team Composition: Barring fast bowler Umesh Yadav, there is no player present in KKR line-up who is part of current Indian One-Day International (ODI) set-up. Among the foreign player’s in the side, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hassan, Andre Rusell, Morne Morkel and Pat Cummins are the only players active in international cricket. Mystery spinner Sunil Narine has been a vital cog in the KKR bowling department. His absence was felt in the Champions League (CL T20) 2014 against Chennai Super Kings, which KKR lost.Narine was banned from bowling just before the finals and he still awaits clearance from BCCI.

Captain Gambhir and Robin Uthappa are the two batting stalwarts in KKR camp. The batting line up boasts of Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan and Suryakumar Yadav, with latter two stacking up as finishers. KKR surprised everyone in this year’s auction by picking unknown spinner KC Cariappa, tipped to be next mystery spinner, for a whopping 2.4 Crore Rs. Other than him, Piyush Chawla, who performed exceedingly well last season, is another spinner KKR will be banking upon. Umesh and Morkel look set to lead the bowling attack while Cummins offers an ideal third bowling option. Overall, the team misses on a premier international name in batting.

Star Player: Last year’s Orange Cap holder Robin Uthappa is the one player to watch out for in KKR camp. His form, after being promoted up the order, was instrumental in taking KKR forward last year. Uthappa has the quality to play both aggressive and waiting game, making him a dangerous batsman in the league.

Prediction: KKR have been an unpredictable side and like last year, they may surprise everyone by lifting the title yet again. But, by the looks of it the side will do well if they make it to the playoffs.

Total 16 Players has been retained by Kolkata Knight Riders before Auction process of IPL 2015.

Indian Domestic  Players:
Gautam Gambhir (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), Piyush Chawla, Yusuf Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Veer Pratap Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Aditya Garhwal, KC Cariappa, Vaibhav Rawal, Sumit Narwal, Sheldon Jackson.

Overseas player:
Andre Russell (WI), Chris Lynn (Aus), Morne Morkel (SA), Patrick Cummins (Aus), Ryan ten Doeschate (Neth), Shakib Al Hasan (Ban) and Sunil Narine (WI)


KKR Released Players for 2015: Debabrata Das, Sayan Sekhar Mandal, Jacques Kallis.

Leave a Reply